Etsy Love – When Shutters Click


We come to the end of my Etsy Love series with Natalie from When Shutters Click Gifts who sells handcrafted pendants, greetings cards and other gifts featuring her own photography.  Natalie’s shop is full of beautiful images and I get a wonderful nostalgic feeling when looking through her products.  I love nature and colour and the fact that Natalie’s jewellery and gifts are made using her own original photography make them truly unique.

1. Tell us a bit about yourself and where the inspiration came from to start your Etsy shop.

The name is Natalie and I’m a fun-loving, crafting gal who fell in love with photography at the age of 15. I have always been a very creative, visual person and come from a family of artists; my mother is a writer and my older brother is a jazz/R&B drummer.

When I decided to close my portrait/wedding/commercial photography business after 3 successful years so I could focus on friends, family and my health.. it didn’t take long for me to miss being creative and creating something I could share with others. After a few months, I decided to use my photography, and my love for crafting, to create pieces of jewelry and other accessories.

While still being able to focus on friends, family and health, I am still able to fulfill my need to be creative and share my work with others.

2. Do you have a favourite piece? Tell us about the thought process involved in creating it and why it is your favourite. 

My favourite piece is my Irish Eye necklace. I love that photograph so much, I have a 16×20 canvas print that I hang in my living room wall. The pendant is created using a high quality glass tile and a silver plated high-shine tray; it is my favourite because it is so bright and happy, it is a great fit for any outfit.

3. What is the biggest milestone you have achieved so far whilst selling on Etsy?

I can’t say that I have hit any yet. My shop is still fairly new, so I can’t celebrate being open for a year or anything like that. I am hoping that in 2012 I will hit the 100 sales milestone, that would be wonderful!

4. What are your future plans for your shop and crafting in general?

I have a number of products waiting to be added to the shop, new styles but also new photographs! I have a very special line of pendants coming out soon for my fellow photographers 😉

I am planning a new blog design and hoping to open a shop, in addition to Etsy, on my website where I can offer other products.

5. And finally let us know where we can find you.

Etsy Shop: http://www.whenshuttersclick.etsy.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/WhenShuttersClickGifts
Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/shuttersclick
Website: http://www.whenshuttersclick.com

 Thanks for sharing with us Natalie, your work is very beautiful.  I know that you will do well on Etsy as you have a truly original product and a brilliant eye for photography – it will just be a matter of time before the sales come flooding in!

I’d like to say thank you to all of my contributors to my Etsy Love series.  It has been a pleasure looking at so many original and beautiful designs and vintage finds.

I will still feature shops from time to time and if you would like me to feature your shop, don’t hesitate to get in touch.

Leave a Reply

