Etsy Love – Mapanò


Next up in my Etsy Love series is Alessandra from Mapanò who sells fabric flowers, home decor, and accessories for adults and babies.  Alessandra’s shop has a lovely, light air to it thanks to the gentle colours and softness of the fabrics used in her beautiful fabric flowers.

1. Tell us a bit about yourself and where the inspiration came from to start your Etsy shop.

My name is Alessandra and I live near Turin, in Italy.  I’m mom of two daughters (3 years and 8 months), wife, front office manager in a hotel and… a creative!  Mapanò is my shop on Etsy. What’s Mapanò?  MA, for MAMMA in Italian (mom in English);  PA, for PAPA’ in Italian (dad in English); NO, for NONNO in Italian (grandfather in English).  Mapanò is a project that includes ideas and skills of all three!  A beautiful way to live my family and build something unique with people I love!  My creations are unique pieces meticulously designed and handmade!  My inspiration? “To live a creative life we must lose our fear of being wrong”!

2. Do you have a favourite piece? Tell us about the thought process involved in creating it and why it is your favourite.

My favorite pieces from Mapanò are some wall decors made with fabric flowers, beads and lace.  These are my favorite because they are like hanging bouquets and are perfect for making any part of the home precious with a little touch of shabby chic design. I used one of them to decorate my daughter’s nursery and she loves these flowers like a little princess!

I also love my necklaces because every day I use the same kind of creations and they really make part of my style and my look. I don’t use elegant clothes and usually I put on a pair of jeans with a blouse or a shirt. My necklaces are perfect for a casual style like mine, because they have a little touch of elegance in the fabric flower but also the practicableness of jersey. Simple and cool!

3. What is the biggest milestone you have achieved so far whilst selling on Etsy?

Unfortunately the startup phase is still running, so I haven’t had a lot of sales, but my personal success is to be really satisfied about my job and I think that people get positively surprised seeing my latest creations. They are unique!

4. What are your future plans for your shop and crafting in general?

For the future, we are preparing some very nice projects completely different from what you seen until today. Lamps created from wood trunks or original curtain hold backs, for instance, are two very interesting projects that put together the electrical skills of my husband and love of my father for iron and wood.

5. And finally let us know where we can find you.

Etsy Shop: http://www.etsy.com/shop/mapano
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Mapanò/115077835271835
Twitter: @MapanoGeninatti
Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/mapano

Thanks for answering my questions Alessandra.  Your shop is truly adorable and you have done well to get some sales at this early stage (it took me months to get a sale from someone who wasn’t a friend or family member)!  I wish you all the best with expanding your shop and look forward to seeing your new creations.

6 thoughts on “Etsy Love – Mapanò

Leave a Reply

