Etsy Love – Winterwoman Designs

 

Next up in my Etsy Love series is Jean from Winterwoman Designs who creates beautiful and unique jewellery from recycled bicycle parts.  This is such a wonderful idea and I love the fact that Jean has taken bits of unwanted metal and turned them into original, wearable pieces of art!

1. Tell us a bit about yourself and where the inspiration came from to start your Etsy shop.

I love to ride bicycles, both on the road and in the woods! I had been working a full time job doing custom window treatments, but my parents were needing more and more help. So, seeing as my kids are grown and my husband has a good job, I decided to stop working full time. I found a part-time job at a local bike shop and just started playing with the used bicycle spokes that were being thrown out, and one day I made a bracelet from one of the spokes . The bike shop owner loved it and said make more, we’ll sell them. They were selling so well at the shop I started looking around for other places to sell and a friend told me about Etsy.

2. Do you have a favourite piece? Tell us about the thought process involved in creating it and why it is your favourite.

My favorite design would have to be the spoke screw and bead bracelets. There were a lot of spoke screws (aka spoke nipples, they hold the spoke in the wheel rim) left over from all the spoke bracelets and they were sitting there looking all shiny, so I just started stringing them on a wire with beads thinking necklace, but then bracelet popped in my head. Why fave? It’s really pretty!

3. What is the biggest milestone you have achieved so far whilst selling on Etsy?

 Maybe selling 50 items?

4. What are your future plans for your shop and crafting in general?

I am developing biking related items that are not jewelry, but still make use of used bike parts. My goal is to get my items into more local shops and to sell at more craft fairs.

5. And finally let us know where we can find you.

Etsy Shop: http://www.etsy.com/shop/Winterwomandesigns
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Re-cycle-ed-Jewelry/209528235761584

Thanks for answering my questions Jean.  I really enjoyed looking at your unique designs, it reminded me that everything has the potential to become something new and exciting with a bit of imagination and creativity.  I wish you all the best in expanding your shop and hope your new items are just as successful as your jewellery.

2 thoughts on “Etsy Love – Winterwoman Designs

Leave a Reply

