Etsy Love – Allengrove Vintage

Next up in my Etsy Love series is Mary from Allengrove Vintage who sells vintage clothing, shoes, accessories and home decor.  Browsing Mary’s shop it is instantly clear to me that Mary has a keen eye for beautiful vintage fashion.  I absolutely adore this 1970s secretary dress (being a secretary myself I wish I could get away with wearing something like this at work!).  Each piece in Mary’s shop has its own unique charm and appears to have been carefully selected.

1. Tell us a bit about yourself and where the inspiration came from to start your Etsy shop.

My mom would take me to thrift stores when I was younger, so I believe my appreciation for used things developed from that stage in my life. It’s a huge thrill for me to find beautiful clothes, accessories and home decor vintage or not. I originally wanted to sell my crochet items on Etsy when the website first started around 2005. I was scared, so I never did it. I didn’t think what I had to offer was good enough. So selling vintage was the next best thing for me. I already had a nice collection and frankly with vintage you don’t have that fear and doubt you have with selling your own handmade things.

2. Do you have a favourite piece? Tell us how you found it and why it is your favourite.

My favorite piece is my 1950’s Doris Dodson juniors dress. I bought it off a vintage eBay seller 5 or 6 years back. It’s my favorite because it’s fabulous! I love everything about it, the circle skirt, the plaid material, the boxy neckline. Too bad it doesn’t fit me. And it’s not currently for sale. I can’t part ways yet!

3. What is the biggest milestone you have achieved so far whilst selling on Etsy?

The biggest was signing up for Etsy. It took me 7 years! So sad. But  I’d also have to say getting my first sale. I hustled for that one.

4. What are your future plans for your business?

I have always wanted to open a thrift/vintage boutique. So hopefully that will happen one day.

5. And finally let us know where we can find you.

Right now I just have an Etsy account. I’m hoping to open more social media sites for my shop in the near future.
Etsy Shop: http://www.etsy.com/shop/AllengroveVintage

Thank you for getting in touch Mary, it was a pleasure to look around your beautiful shop.  I hope that you one day get to open your boutique and fill it with more enchanting treasures!

5 thoughts on “Etsy Love – Allengrove Vintage

Leave a Reply

