Etsy Love – Carden Creations

Today in my Etsy Love series we are getting to know Sarah from Carden Creations – a delightful shop full of colourful jewellery, bridal bouquets and framed art by her husband, Robert.  Sarah and Robert’s shop has a vibrant energy to it, full of imagination and a love for crafting.

1. Tell us a bit about yourself and where the inspiration came from to start your Etsy shop.

I am a wife and mother first. My husband and kids make any journey worthwhile…and interesting! And they continue to be every emotion I have everyday. When things are going good or bad, they are the ones I want to share it with. I work in the field of health and wellness and I love helping people achieve their goals. It is so inspirational to see people who have conquered illness and injury and committed to a more active lifestyle. It never ceases to amaze me.

I am also a student and working on my doctorate in Leadership Studies. It challenges me everyday and I love each new discovery I make and the wonderful people I have gotten to know as a result. I love history, psychology, exercising, and reading. But I have had so much fun making the items you see in my shop. It started with some old wire that my husband never used, some beads, and a rainy day in Texas…and I started making jewelry and didn’t stop. Recently, my husband started making the items in our shop section “Our Back Porch”. He loves to make framed art. He has turned into the talent and I am his manager! Suddenly we made so much stuff that we had to do something with it. I love Etsy and had shopped there forever, so it felt like a natural thing to start a shop and here we are!

 2. Do you have a favourite piece? Tell us about the thought process involved in creating it and why it is your favourite.

I would have to say that my favorite item in my shop is one of the beaded brooch bouquets. This in particular:I love making the jewelry, but the bouquets were something that stayed in my mind for a long time. The vintage brooches and repurposed jewelry had to be used so they could start another beautiful life. It sounds corny, I know, but I can’t help but to wonder where the pieces had been and hope they can be passed on to make people happy.Personally, there is another item that is my favorite:This is one of the pieces my husband made. I am amazed at how good he is at it and how much fun he has doing it. I told I am buying this one if no one else does…at a discount of course!

3. What is the biggest milestone you have achieved so far whilst selling on Etsy?

 My biggest milestone had to be my first sale. I am sure that most Etsy sellers would say the same. And I am talking about the first sale that was not friends or family. While those are wonderful too, I was so excited when someone stumbled onto our store and loved what we had.
 
4. What are your future plans for your shop and crafting in general?
 
We hope to open another store with Robert’s (hubby) pieces of tile art. I think I have created a monster…one that is way more talented and intricate them me! This has been something we have enjoyed doing together as a team. And who knows, maybe we can quit our days jobs someday and just make the things we love to make! 
 
5. And finally let us know where we can find you.
  
 
Thanks for sharing with us Sarah.  I hope your second shop is just as successful as your first.  I’m a little jealous that your husband shares your passion for crafting – I’ve tried to get my partner to knit with me but it’s just not going to happen!!
2 thoughts on “Etsy Love – Carden Creations

Leave a Reply

