Haggis Pie

I was too hungry to take a picture before we cut into it....

I just had to share this amazing recipe.  I can’t take the credit though, my boyfriend had this waiting for me when I got home from work the other day (I’m a lucky lady)!

For 4 portions (large portions!)
Ingredients
300-400g haggis
2 sausages
350g new baby potatoes
1 onion
2 carrots
puff pastry
1 egg (beaten)

Method

Boil potatoes and carrots (thinly sliced) in a pot for 8 minutes then drain and set aside.

Fry onions in a large frying pan for about 10 minutes until soft.

Add potatoes, carrots, sausages (cut into chunks) and crumble in haggis.  Mix together and cook for a couple of minutes before pouring into a casserole dish.

Roll out pastry to about 1/2cm thickness (you can make your own if you really want to but this dish is all about comfort so bought pastry is just as good!) and cover the casserole dish – remember to cut a hole in the middle to let the steam out.

Cook at 200˚C for around 40 minutes until pastry is golden.

We served this with green veg so we could pretend we were being healthy – I recommend broccoli or peas but any of your favourite veg would go.  I also made a small amount of gravy but the pie should be nice and moist without it (I just love gravy!)

I really hope you enjoy this dish and if you do make it please share a comment and photo with the rest of us!

Leave a Reply

